finds: chong-yo

Introducing finds – a new section highlighting recent purchases and lucky stumbles upon things of beauty and intrigue.

Today I went shopping for the first time at Chong-Yo in south-east Taichung. It’s a huge department store. While I still prefer the Eslite bookstore mall near Hotel One, I definitely like Chong-Yo more than Sogo or Mitsukoshi.

I overspent at the M.A.C. counter, purchasing a beautiful cherry red lipstick, a stick of matching lip liner and some great black liquid eyeliner that has a slight green tinge to it. Lovely.

M.A.C. Liquidlast Liner – Inkspill
M.A.C. Retro Matte Lipstick – Ruby Wood
M.A.C. Lip Pencil – Cherry

I also found that Chong-Yo contains one of my favourite stores, a la sha. I absolutely love their stuff and splurged on a cute red blouse and a super comfy yellow overcoat. Here they are:

But, my most excitement-inducing purchase was a copy of waterfall magazine. I bought it at Eslite on the 12 floor of Chong-Yo.

I haven’t seen this magazine before and have no idea whether or not I’m behind the times announcing this one, especially considering it’s been on the shelves since July 2009, but I don’t care. I’ve only flicked through it and I’m already smitten. I haven’t dared to pry open the covers too far yet. I really want to savour my deep-sea dive into it, holding my breath and searching for treasure. Therefore, I won’t elaborate too much on the content and what I thought of it (or will think of it) in this post. Stay tuned for an in-depth review.

One last thing. An old friend from New Zealand has bundled together some artwork on Mischief Champion. I laughed a lot at many of them and particularly enjoyed Deer Deer, Beautiful Hat and Rabbit Pig.

Thank you for supporting jar of buttons.

Copyright © 2010. This website is for personal non-commercial use only. All written work and imagery copyright to jar of buttons unless otherwise stated.

If you love me, vote for me. Vote for JoB in the Best Taiwan Blog Awards 2009. Just click on the + in the points box.

Tags: , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “finds: chong-yo”

  1. Kim Cusick Says:

    Oh so vogue! Great pictures! I am happy to see that you got your shopping time in since you were jipped (spelling?) last night. 🙂

  2. jarofbuttons Says:

    I was so happy to run into a la sha again! It was a good day today.

  3. Victoria Says:

    Lovely kate…You look fabulous in your new clothes.
    the lip colour looks lovely too. I got a great MAC red lipstick too xx

Leave a Reply

