baking teensy: edition 5 (chocolate and crunch Kiwiana)

I made these today.

Afghan Biscuits are, as far as I know, a solely New Zealand invention, first appearing in the iconic Edmonds Cookery Book. They are basically chocolate cookies with the strange but truly wonderful edition of Skippy Cornflakes to give a crunchy texture. I, however, used Special K because I couldn’t find cornflakes.

I’m not sure if you can see in the picture above but there are two different colors of icing. That’s because the icing is actually pure cooking chocolate, and because the first batch I made I melted it in a bowl in a pot of water. I managed to put too much water in the pot and some of it leeked into the bowl. This makes the chocolate go all weird and dark and bitsy. It still tasted like chocolate though, so I used it anyway. The next batch I made I took out some of the water; problem solved.

While I’m admitting to my baking errors, I also managed to burn the bottom of the biscuits and had to spend about ten minutes scrapping the burnt off with a serrated knife. Does anyone have any tips on how to not burn the bottom of biscuits when cooking in a toaster oven? Please post them here because I’m not sure if I can work it out.

I will be making these Afghan Biscuits and New Zealand Lolly Cake to sell at the International Food Festival being held at Feng Chia University next Friday. Come along, bring your friends. At my stall alone there will be food and drink from New Zealand, Japan, Thailand and Indonesia, and there is a whole floor of stalls!

Actually, a quick side note, my Thai classmate just made me aware that there is a small Thai market somewhere near Tunghai University. When I find out more, I’ll pass it on to you.

The International Food Festival will on from 9 am to 3 pm on Friday 30th April. Come to the fourth floor of Administration Building II, Feng Chia University, No. 100, Wenhwa Rd., Seatwen, Taichung. Here’s a campus map.

I just realised, this is the first baking teensy I’ve posted on something sweet. Weird.

To make your own Afghan Biscuits, here’s the recipe I used.

To make your own New Zealand Lolly Cake, here’s the recipe I will use.

You might also like:

Follow JoB on Bloglovin or join the JoB Facebook group.

Thank you for supporting jar of buttons.
Copyright © 2010. This website is for personal non-commercial use only. All written work and imagery copyright to jar of buttons unless otherwise stated.
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

